Magma Poetry 79: Dwelling

Magma 79 Launch Events

The COVID-19 Pandemic has been a very difficult time for writers, with bookings and events being cancelled. For that reason, we have created a number of free events open to the public and online

Fri 2 April 7 pm GMT / 2pm EST:  Magma Poetry 79 Launch I

Sat 3 April 2pm GMT / 9am EST:  Dwelling Craft Talk by Polly Atkin

Thurs 15 April 7pm GMT / 2pm EST:  Magma 79 @ Seren Festival:Love in the Time of Corona

Sat 1 May 2pm GMT / 9am EST:  Magma Poetry 79 Launch II

Fri 21 May 7pm GMT / 2pm EST:  Magma Poetry 79: Poets & Scientists Talk Dwelling

Sat 22 May 4pm GMT / 11am EST:  Dwelling Craft Talk by Vidyan Ravinthiran

Magma poetry 79 ethos

This issue on “dwelling” asks questions and seeks new possibilities for the way we, human beings, have been living. “Dwelling” means existing with the earth i.e. viewing the natural world with respect, and acknowledging it as an autonomous life-force beyond human possession. Since a global pandemic was declared, dwelling has taken on new significance, as communities seek ways to live in isolation. The global pandemic of COVID-19 has drawn into stark attention the fragility of human and natural worlds in which we dwell.

Coming Soon

As part of funding from the Ohio State University Arts + Humanities Discovery Themes, there will be a variety of workshops with different communities around Ohio, using creative writing as a way to process the experiences of the pandemic.